National Framework of Qualifications

The diagram below illustrates the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ), which allows qualifications to be compared both nationally and internationally

National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ) Click on the Image to open enlarged copy



Other Awards

Level 1

Level 1 Certificate


Level 2

Level 2 Certificate

Primary Certificate

Level 3

Level 3 Certificate

Junior Certificate, Intermediate Certificate,
Group Certificate,
National Foundation Certificate (NCVA)

Level 4

Level 4 Certificate

Leaving Certificate,
Leaving Certificate Applied
National Vocational Certificate Level 1 (NCVA)

Level 5

Level 5 Certificate

Leaving Certificate,
Post-Leaving Certificate (PLC)
National Vocational Certificate Level 2 (NCVA)

Level 6

Level 6 Advanced Certificate

Higher Certificate (HETAC/NCEA)
National Vocational Certificate Level 3 (NCVA)

The NFQ is a system of 10 levels each based on nationally agreed standards of knowledge, skill and competence. At each level there is at least one award type. Major awards fulfil a broad range of purposes while other awards types i.e. minor, special purpose or supplemental awards are more limited or specialised. The learner has the freedom to build their qualification in ways that suits their needs.


Hobby class online Registeration

Click here to view/book a hobby class

Sign up for Course information

Click here and enter your contact details, we will contact you with any upcoming courses or Workshops

Where are we
200 Metres from the Kenmare Post Office. If coming via Kilgarvan go past the Lansdowne Hotel (on right) on one way system until you reach the Post Office. Turn Left on to the Glengariffe Road (R ) and drive 200 Metres. Building on left after the Church of Ireland. (Raining Fence and Sign).
View us on Google Maps